ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END

Recipe Reviews

White Chicken Chili

Prep: 35 min Total: 35 min

(115 Ratings) Member Reviews (54)

Calories 330 Total Fat 5g Saturated Fat 2g

Write a Review

true
e88f3f00-951a-4549-baf9-d79d3716b5c6

1 - 54 of 54 Reviews
Posted 5/31/2012 2:39:00 PM REPORT ABUSE sbrn13 said:
Rating:
This chili is so incredibly good! It's one of me and my hubby's favorite dinners. I make it like the recipe says but add some chopped cilantro to the soup instead of having it as just a garnish on top, it gives it so much flavor. Then with each individual bowl we add a little bit of sour cream and some crushed up tortilla chips. It's delicious!!!
Posted 2/27/2012 10:27:13 AM REPORT ABUSE NickiWoodard said:
Rating:
It was OK, but I don't think I'll make it again. Very filling.
Posted 12/28/2011 1:24:27 PM REPORT ABUSE BeeBubbaBella said:
Rating:
My friend had made this for us when she invited my kiddos and I over for dinner. I have high bp so she made a recipe that I could eat. I fell in love with this and have made it many times here at home. I use homemade chicken stock bc there is no salt in it. I also use ground turkey because I have lots of it in my freezer. I double everything except the turkey. I leave out the green chiles and red pepper. You can't help but eat more than 1 bowl of this chili. My kids even eat this chili up.
Posted 11/23/2011 12:34:22 PM REPORT ABUSE First Time said:
Rating:
VERY good! Just found this website and it has given me new hope! So many choices (healthy).
Posted 11/14/2011 1:55:41 PM REPORT ABUSE Rdeyer said:
Rating:
I thought it was delicious! The name is a little confusing, because its more of a soup than a chili. But, i liked the kick that the chili's gave, and it was so easy to make!
Posted 11/14/2011 1:55:36 PM REPORT ABUSE chasityreyes said:
Rating:
this white chicken chili was awesome. I forgot to get cumin and zucchinii but had everything else and my picky lil sister loved it too. You have to make this
Posted 10/10/2011 9:31:22 AM REPORT ABUSE Hot_Mama said:
Rating:
I used ground turkey because I couldn't find ground chicken and added some low fat sour cream along with the cheese and this was great!
Posted 6/1/2011 3:58:13 PM REPORT ABUSE cmmst40 said:
Rating:
This chili is a MUST MAKE. I searched high and low for a good White Chicken Chili Recipe. This one definitely takes the cake. Everyone I have shared it with has made it- my mom, grandma and mother-in-law all make this every winter and swear by it!
Posted 4/12/2011 3:06:46 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This was so good. Instead of oregano I put cilantro. I forgot to buy the can of green chiles...but I put a chopped jalapeno. No cayenne pepper either, just pepper. It was a hit!
Posted 3/15/2011 3:20:53 PM REPORT ABUSE Tereag200519 said:
Rating:
I made this for my family and it was great! I used Ground Turkey instead of the chicken and it was so GOOD! Also this was so easy and fast to put together!
Posted 3/4/2011 3:23:12 PM REPORT ABUSE mumbraley said:
Rating:
Finding "healthy" things that my husband will eat takes some creativity. This dish, however, is one that I didn't have to work at at all. We loved it! Easy to make and very filling. A lovely one dish dinner that is definitely going into my family recipe book. I look forward to trying several of the other recipes, particularly if the results are this well received.
Posted 2/8/2011 3:18:10 PM REPORT ABUSE adams530 said:
Rating:
I love this recipe! I chopped up a chicken breast into small chunks instead of ground, I added a little more cumin than called for (about another 1/2 tsp), I added a half of a can of diced tomatoes (drained), I used the HOT chopped green chiles and added about 3 teaspoons of salt. So good! Just enough kick and it definitely is satisfying.
Posted 2/7/2011 3:04:53 PM REPORT ABUSE jdmrosa said:
Rating:
We had this last night for dinner and really enjoyed it! It was a nice lighter alternative to more traditional, heavier chili. I substituted kidney beans for the white beans and added a bit more cumin, and it was delicious!
Posted 1/24/2011 3:50:20 PM REPORT ABUSE Southern Diva1979 said:
Rating:
YUMMY! I used 1 and a half can of green chile and cut up chicken breast instead of grounded chicken. It was FAB!
Posted 11/8/2010 3:03:13 PM REPORT ABUSE DebraSueRN said:
Rating:
My family, including my 7 year old, loves this meal. So healthy and so good!
Posted 9/15/2010 9:40:03 AM REPORT ABUSE Mommyoffive said:
Rating:
This was amazing! I did add 1/4 tsp of dried jalapeno pieces, 1 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and 1 tsp of chicken bouillon since I felt like it needed salt. It was outstanding!
Posted 9/8/2010 9:31:08 AM REPORT ABUSE redbmw said:
Rating:
My husband does not eat what you would call a low cal dinner. I added carrots,and hot sauce and yes the sour cream makes it taste better. To my surprise my husband ate 2 bowls of it ! Super easy to make as I am not the cook of the house I was surprised that he liked it.Will make it again only I will make it thicker by adding corn starch
Posted 8/27/2010 9:39:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Nylad said:
Rating:
Wow! I can't think of many recipes that I would rate 5 stars, but I feel this one really does deserve it. The recipe makes enough to share, and my neighbor is always asking me when I'm going to make it again so I can give her some. The zucchini is a great idea to cut back on the calories. I ran out of cheese one time, and it was still great!
Posted 5/24/2010 12:12:09 PM REPORT ABUSE Suzie Trexler said:
Rating:
This was one of the best dishes my husband ever ate. Im a vegetarain and cooked the meal and then added cooked chicken I had leftover I took some out before adding the chicken. It was great for both of us but he was very impressed and said he would have eaten it without the chicken. This is definetly going in my keep recipes.
Posted 4/20/2010 2:47:54 PM REPORT ABUSE igivthanx said:
Rating:
im a single good-looking 40 yr. old male who enjoys cooking for women and this meal is an excellent addition to my arsenal of 5 star dishes. in someways i i feel guilty because women dont stand a chance.....but hey its the cards ive been handed. IGIVTHANX.
Posted 2/24/2010 2:47:37 PM REPORT ABUSE Berrish said:
Rating:
delicious! we served it to 30 people, and everyone loved it!
Posted 2/24/2010 2:47:29 PM REPORT ABUSE jfrancis said:
Rating:
this chili was so good it almost brought a tear to my eye. love it and will be sharing this with family.
Posted 1/11/2010 1:38:54 PM REPORT ABUSE solarmom said:
Rating:
This stuff is awesome. My kids went back for thirds. I did not rinse my great northern beans or rinse them. I used chili powder instead of the cayenne. The sour cream makes it! I will be asked to make this many more times. Thanks.
Posted 1/11/2010 1:38:39 PM REPORT ABUSE c.l.h said:
Rating:
I made this for dinner and it was delicious! I added a can of corn and thought it really added some flavor. Next time, I will probably add 3/4 of a can. Would highly recommend with a small spoonful of light sour cream and cheese.
Posted 1/8/2010 9:50:21 AM REPORT ABUSE stbschick said:
Rating:
I made this tonight for dinner and it was DELICIOUS! I misread the recipe so I only had 1 zucchini and 1 can of beans, and it still turned out really well. I added carrots, since most of the reviews said that was good, and I also added a tiny bit more cayenne pepper. It was SO good, definitely plan to make it often! :)
Posted 1/8/2010 9:45:05 AM REPORT ABUSE bhartling1213 said:
Rating:
This white chicken chili is so good. Even my hubby liked it and he is a tough critic of Healthified food! I made it the exact way the recipe calls.
Posted 11/5/2009 2:56:34 PM REPORT ABUSE lildidge said:
Rating:
DELISH!!! I use chunk of chicken instead of the ground. Everyone loves this. A great cold, sunday afternoon meal!!!
Posted 9/25/2009 2:00:07 PM REPORT ABUSE icnside said:
Rating:
I made this exactly to recipe and it was wonderful! It is exactly what you need when you want something savory and delicious.
Posted 6/22/2009 12:40:58 PM REPORT ABUSE jenedco said:
Rating:
I love this recipe! It was so tasty, a little salty for my liking so next time I will replace some of the broth with water. But there will be a next time! The cumin and orageno together have such a wonderful flavor!
Posted 4/27/2009 10:24:19 AM REPORT ABUSE meilye said:
Rating:
My husband made this for dinner and it turned out great! We will make it again for sure.
Posted 3/16/2009 2:54:45 PM REPORT ABUSE Sara said:
Rating:
This was so much better than I expected. My kids liked it and my husband loved it. The best part was no one even noticed the zucchini which they previously would have never touched. Delicious!
Posted 2/19/2009 2:54:34 PM REPORT ABUSE Faith said:
Rating:
This chili was so delicious! I have always loved white chili so I was excited to try this one. It turned out better than I expected and my husband liked it better than the cafe's we had some at before. I used turkey because I already had it.
Posted 2/13/2009 8:35:16 AM REPORT ABUSE Morjoy said:
Rating:
I made this with low fat ground turkey because I didn't have chicken but it was still delicious! My husband scoffs at "low fat" but loved this also.
Posted 2/2/2009 12:36:55 PM REPORT ABUSE spoiledmommy said:
Rating:
I have never ate zuccini so I was a little sceptical, but it was delish. My husband said this recipe is a keeper and we have now added this into rotation with our othre favorites. I did crush a few tortilla chips in for cruch effect but was still great without it. Also I added in carrots for color and it was good. MUST TRY
Posted 1/27/2009 1:58:32 PM REPORT ABUSE angcurtis said:
Rating:
This dish was easy to prepare and my family loved it!- even my four year old!
Posted 1/27/2009 1:17:53 PM REPORT ABUSE Gilly35 said:
Rating:
I liked this variation of chili, especially with the zucchini in it. Be careful not to over cook the zucchini though...it's not as good when mushy. Great flavor otherwise.
Posted 1/26/2009 9:49:13 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I was pretty skeptical about this but when I made it....it was awesome! I was plesantly suprised by the good flavors. I made it exactly as the recipe said to and it was great. Next time I might add some carrots.
Posted 1/16/2009 9:52:05 AM REPORT ABUSE raddical_one said:
Rating:
Good tasting meal. I added some carrots for color and more garlic and some red pepper flakes for extra kick. The slow cooker was used (choice for ease), and I served the chili with a piece of Panera's tomato and basil bread toasted with rubbed garlic. Will share with my friends for certain.
Posted 1/14/2009 9:37:09 AM REPORT ABUSE CabanaGirl said:
Rating:
I often make turkey chile with black or red beans and tomatoes. This was a really nice change for us. I served it over brown rice - very filling and high in fiber!
Posted 1/14/2009 9:37:02 AM REPORT ABUSE Wallacea said:
Rating:
Wow! this was a great meal. My children loved it. I pureed some of the zucchini to include back in the broth and they did not even realize how many vegetables they were getting. I highly recommend this recipe.
Posted 1/13/2009 10:21:41 AM REPORT ABUSE arod_75 said:
Rating:
It was so easy to make and really tasty.. This chili rocks.
Posted 1/12/2009 9:59:07 AM REPORT ABUSE ksbamom said:
Rating:
This was a really simple recipe that tastes great. I added a can of corn and tomatoes with chiles for extra flavor. I also thickened it with cornstarch.
Posted 1/9/2009 9:53:55 AM REPORT ABUSE amandal120 said:
Rating:
I took the advice of another reviewer and added a few extras and it turned out wonderful! I will definatly make this again and again and again!
Posted 1/6/2009 10:07:59 AM REPORT ABUSE ScottPax said:
Rating:
My entire family really enjoyed this. I do recommend you include the sour cream and cillantro before serving (I mixed it all in and used a "cube" of cilantro"). They didn't even complain or comment on the zuchinni!
Posted 1/6/2009 10:07:52 AM REPORT ABUSE qtscookn said:
Rating:
This was a quick and easy recipe to prepare. The only change I made was to add a few chopped carrots for some more color. My boyfriend and I both really liked it. Next time we'll probably use ground turkey instead of chicken and add a can of diced tomatoes. This made a nice pot full with enough left to freeze for another meal.
Posted 1/6/2009 10:07:46 AM REPORT ABUSE Love to dance said:
Rating:
I make a similar recipe and I add diced yellow squash to it to bulk it up. You really can't taste the squash and it gives it more volume. It's also very good if you bake a tortilla cut up in traingles and use it to dip into the chili.
Posted 1/2/2009 10:09:37 AM REPORT ABUSE loloen said:
Rating:
I made this using northern beans (apparently Wal-Mart was out of cannellini beans) and I omitted the chiles. It was really good! Even my 13 month old ate everything in her bowl. Very filling and perfect for cold weather. Really easy to make too. I didn't realize the recipe called for ground chicken, but no biggie. Just throw some chicken breasts in the food processor and you're good to go. What are you waiting for? Make it already!
Posted 12/29/2008 7:49:32 AM REPORT ABUSE minmae5150 said:
Rating:
This is a great recipe! I've been making it for years! I just throw all the basics into a crock pot. If you're serving it to a crowd, it's a good idea to have extras that can be tossed in before eating by guests, such as shredded cheese, oyster crackers, olives, green chiles, diced tomatoes, etc.
Posted 12/22/2008 8:05:55 AM REPORT ABUSE rogojr2000 said:
Rating:
My partner and I are trying to find new healthier recipes for our meals and this was our first recipe from this site. We were very pleased and look forward to trying more of these delicious looking meals. This was a good way to keep warm with all the winter snow that is falling. Enjoy!
Posted 11/20/2008 12:50:09 PM REPORT ABUSE dietisadirtyword said:
Rating:
I really liked this recipe. It was really easy and so tasty. I used turkey because ground chicken is harder to find, and also drained the meat before adding the other ingredients to keep the soup from being to greasy. I tried to calculate the points value for all my weight watcher friends and it comes out to about 6 points for a 1 and 1/3 cup serving. I like it as is but next time will try to think of more veggies that can added. Any suggestions?
Posted 11/17/2008 9:40:05 AM REPORT ABUSE Kerryann said:
Rating:
This was a fantastic base recipe - I altered it to make it more southwest! Adds: Added 1 can of jalapenos (in addition to 1 can of green chilis) Added 1 can of corn Added 1 carrot Modifications: 1/2 lb of chicken (cut small) 1 lb of ground turkey (extra lean) 1/2 onion (instead of full) WAY MORE GARLIC than the recipe calls for One other slight modification... added about 1+ tablespoon of cornstarch at the end to thicken it up. Served with blue corn chips and a small dab of (light) sour cream. Absolute hit!!!! Goodtimes, highly recommend!
Posted 11/10/2008 9:46:40 AM REPORT ABUSE asmith said:
Rating:
I have always loved White Chicken Chili. I order it all the time at Ruby Tuesdays. This is a great recipe. I did adjust alittle however. I adjusted the spices a bit because I did not have all of them, and I left out the zucchini. I was not sure if I would like that, but my husband said it might have been good. I also put all ingredients in my crockpot and cooked it all day. We put a litte bit of low fat sour cream on top, and ate it with a few tortilla chips. I also had enough to eat for lunch the next day.
Posted 10/17/2008 9:38:19 AM REPORT ABUSE mrschef said:
Rating:
This chili was so easy to make! The change I made was to use ground turkey instead of chicken.
Posted 9/23/2008 3:01:42 PM REPORT ABUSE queen_merla said:
Rating:
A perfect mix of flavors, textures, protein, veggies, all in one warm, hearty bowl. Easy to make, and i served it with rice, which really finished it off nicely, though I think crusty bread would also have worked well. I doubled the cayenne and cumin, cause my boyfriend and I like things a little hotter, and if you had kids you could go the other route and leave out the chillies or something, but overall, a perfect dish for a cool night.
1 - 54 of 54 Reviews
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END