ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END

Recipe Reviews

Tomato-Basil Chicken

Prep: 20 min Total: 20 min

(64 Ratings) Member Reviews (36)

Calories 360 Total Fat 6g Saturated Fat 1 1/2g

Write a Review

true
8ab11e11-69b9-43b0-81e9-463aac2dd696

1 - 36 of 36 Reviews
Posted 1/17/2013 2:13:28 PM REPORT ABUSE TrenaW3 said:
Rating:
I was super excited about this recipe. And once I tried, I was extremely pleased with the flavor. I thought 3 tomatoes was a bit too much for my taste and cut out one of them. Then took a couple of you guys advice and added a red bell pepper and spinach for some added nutrition. As for the noodles, I used Simply Organic whole wheat rotini noodles. They seem thicker and make you feel fuller. I sprinkled just a tad of parmesan to taste and viola. Very happy. So was the hubby. I could have used some fresh mushrooms but then I would have been the only one eating it!!!
Posted 5/22/2012 8:13:57 AM REPORT ABUSE Daphodil said:
Rating:
I made this for dinner last evening. Everyone thought it was very good, but I thought it was a bit bland. I think it's because I choose to use the dried basil leaves instead of fresh. Next time I will be using fresh basil and topping it with a bit of low-fat cheese. But all-in-all a good dish!
Posted 2/24/2012 4:12:05 PM REPORT ABUSE Easy and surprisingly amazing said:
Rating:
I decided to substitute the chicken with mushrooms. However, my husband didn't love that idea, so we added it back, WITH the mushrooms. At the recommendation of another review, I also added a cup of red peppers to add flavor. My husband generally hates whole grain pasta, but even he thought this dinner was amazing and a make-again! We are going to add a little spinach next time to bump up the nutrition, but I think this will be a regular in our house.
Posted 2/24/2012 4:11:55 PM REPORT ABUSE MelanieJTN said:
Rating:
I used fire roasted canned tomatoes for convenience and plan to add mushrooms next time. I found this dish quite filling and it came together very quickly. I will definitely add to to my favorites!
Posted 2/24/2012 4:11:48 PM REPORT ABUSE lilmraya said:
Rating:
Very quick and easy,but best of all,my 11 year old cleared her plate!
Posted 11/23/2011 9:44:17 AM REPORT ABUSE cjadams said:
Rating:
This was so easy to make that my husband who never cooks had fun helping (and eating) this dish. My kids also enjoyed it and want me to fix it again. I will try canned tomatoes next time to get some extra juice.
Posted 11/23/2011 9:43:14 AM REPORT ABUSE billydtharp said:
Rating:
My wife and kids wolfed this one. They were shocked when they found out it was so healthy. This one goes in the cookbook.
Posted 11/23/2011 9:42:13 AM REPORT ABUSE bizzy4a said:
Rating:
great
Posted 7/25/2011 3:40:15 PM REPORT ABUSE snack_mom said:
Rating:
This meal was so quick and easy to make and to top it off it was DELICIOUS. Everyone in my house loved it an wanted more, especially my 4y/o. I added extra tomatoes, roasted peppers, extra garlic and topped it off with some parmesan cheese. It was a great summer meal.
Posted 6/6/2011 2:58:34 PM REPORT ABUSE dmgreen said:
Rating:
We fixed this for dinner tonight. It not only met but exceeded our expectations. We did add extra garlic (3 large cloves), and extra tabasco. We also included some sliced baby portabella mushroom at the same time as sauteing the onions and garlic. Wonderful flavorful dish we will fix again.
Posted 8/13/2010 9:30:10 AM REPORT ABUSE Naleena said:
Rating:
I made this but substituted portabella mushrooms or baby bella for the chicken which made it lower calorie and lower fat plus, I added some garlic & oregano. Used it for my lunch , used smaller servings and had a salad and it was great.
Posted 7/20/2010 9:49:52 AM REPORT ABUSE Karrie Lynn said:
Rating:
This was so great!! I used the new bacon peppercorn rotisserie chicken from Publix, too! My husband really loved the recipe, too!
Posted 5/7/2010 9:51:48 AM REPORT ABUSE PaulaG2 said:
Rating:
This is an excellent recipe to make after a long day at the office. I used whole wheat spaghetti in place of the fettuccine as well as using 2 cans of drained fire roasted tomatoes. The chicken was the breast portion of a rotisserie chicken. I might increase the red pepper sauce for a little more zest. Overall a quick and healthy meal.
Posted 3/18/2010 3:17:21 PM REPORT ABUSE mystiquesun said:
Rating:
I added more Tabasco and some red pepper flakes. I felt it needed a lot of salt but very good!!!!
Posted 1/11/2010 1:37:30 PM REPORT ABUSE mrschef said:
Rating:
Another great recipe from eatbetteramerica! So easy, quick and delicious! Thank you!
Posted 1/8/2010 9:44:57 AM REPORT ABUSE AHurwitz said:
Rating:
I'm 18 years old and just started to learn how to cook. This is the first recipe I tried off the website. Was not very confident while cooking it, but the final result was delicious.
Posted 1/5/2010 10:57:52 AM REPORT ABUSE mygirl98 said:
Rating:
This dish was amazingly delicious, the whole family loved it...I followed the recipe exactly as written except for a couple of extra dashes of tabasco ( we like spicy foods). This recipe will definitely be made over and over again. Thanks for making this recipe available!!!!!
Posted 1/5/2010 10:37:59 AM REPORT ABUSE BeachGirl8 said:
Rating:
Super easy recipe and absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Posted 8/25/2009 3:49:54 PM REPORT ABUSE Naninator said:
Rating:
This is sooooo good! I have made it many times because of how good it tastes. As a teen, its my chore in the family to make super so i needed an easy recipe that wouldnt taste bad. this is the best meal i have ever made. the whole wheat noodles dont add or detract any taste at all!
Posted 6/3/2009 5:12:53 PM REPORT ABUSE dhamby said:
Rating:
this is an awsome recipe the best I have found in long time Thanks
Posted 4/13/2009 11:21:02 AM REPORT ABUSE KaraWal said:
Rating:
This was the first time my husband and I tried whole wheat pasta and we loved it. This recipe is excellent!
Posted 3/31/2009 3:27:36 PM REPORT ABUSE mlseeman said:
Rating:
I made this for a Wellness Lunch-n-Learn at the office and this was a big hit. Many of the folks had never tried whole wheat pasta and found it was really good. Many took a copy of the recipe with them. Very easy to make and so full of flavor. I did use diced tomatoes and rotisserie chicken but really easy to put together, matter of fact did it right in the office that morning and put everything in the crockpot and was ready for lunch. Everyone could smell the wonderful aroma throughout the office.
Posted 9/29/2008 9:46:17 AM REPORT ABUSE lucymsp said:
Rating:
Will definitely make again, so fresh and flavorful! I add a little more Tabasco.
Posted 9/23/2008 3:00:27 PM REPORT ABUSE sherinrick said:
Rating:
great recipe, will make it again
Posted 9/15/2008 9:57:18 AM REPORT ABUSE asmith said:
Rating:
This is a great recipe. I LOVE the tomatos. Will make this again.
Posted 8/5/2008 1:33:06 PM REPORT ABUSE ChrisinNH said:
Rating:
I made this just as directed using fresh basil. Only had regular spaghetti so I did sub that. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes or more hot sauce as this was not spicey at all. Very yummy though!
Posted 6/23/2008 8:20:15 AM REPORT ABUSE joan_gozo said:
Rating:
I can't really cook per se but with this recipe, there'd be no mistakes. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used canned tomatoes to make it simpler. It's so delicious that everyone thought I've been cooking for years. hehehe. If they only knew...... :)
Posted 5/13/2008 9:53:39 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This is one of my favorite recipes now! It was so simple (I also used a can of diced tomatoes instead) and delicious using organic vegetables. Best yet - I was able to let it simmer while preparing my salad and other meals for the week and then when I was done - it was ready. Great left-over as well.
Posted 3/19/2008 9:43:00 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
We substitute a can of diced tomatoes and add lots of extra garlic to give this already amazing recipe some extra kick. We found the recipe last week and have already made it three times! This is a keeper.
Posted 2/4/2008 9:39:47 AM REPORT ABUSE Paulette in Michigan said:
Rating:
I have made this dinner twice and each time my husband, a wonderful cook himself, raved! The flavors are so wonderful together - much more elegant than spaghetti. It is very easy and with lite or whole wheat pasta it is 5 points on Weight Watchers! Delicious.
Posted 1/28/2008 9:39:42 AM REPORT ABUSE Lotus Blossom said:
Rating:
I added mushrooms to this recipe (because I love mushrooms) it was fantastic!
Posted 1/25/2008 3:22:36 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I'm not much of a cook, but after making this dish, I felt gourmet! It tastes phenomenal and looks like you spent a lot more time in the kitchen than you actually did. Highly recommended.
Posted 1/11/2008 9:50:29 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
What a delicious flavors with unexpectedly bold flavors and such a simple and minimal recipe list! Even better is that most all of the ingredients can be prepared before-hand (chopping tom/onions & cooking chicken), so that the actual cook time is minimal.
Posted 12/13/2007 9:41:03 AM REPORT ABUSE mary207k said:
Rating:
I was great! I couldn't believe how good it tasted!
Posted 11/8/2007 10:12:50 AM REPORT ABUSE sinjun13 said:
Rating:
This was a pretty good way for my family and I to start to eat healthy it is a lot like spaghetti but not so filling that you feel overfull. I will be making this one again
Posted 10/29/2007 9:38:40 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
My husband and I loved this recipe! I put it in my recipe box! I needed to use up my regular fettuchine noodles, so I will have to try the whole wheat ones next time!
1 - 36 of 36 Reviews
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END