ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END

Recipe Reviews

Pina Colada Cake

Prep: 10 min Total: 30 min

(80 Ratings) Member Reviews (56)

Calories 140 Total Fat 1g Saturated Fat 1g

Write a Review

true
719743c7-a938-477a-ab85-dc1d7717b3aa

1 - 56 of 56 Reviews
Posted 6/28/2013 4:10:40 AM REPORT ABUSE Jermy1 said:
Rating:
Nice Recipe
Posted 4/18/2013 4:42:31 PM REPORT ABUSE TEST2013652 said:
Rating:
This is a test"/><whs>
Posted 8/29/2012 1:46:15 PM REPORT ABUSE marlew6 said:
Rating:
This cake is really good. I used a 20oz can of pineapple like some others suggested. It doesn't taste like a low fat cake and I will definitely make it again.
Posted 8/11/2012 8:55:20 AM REPORT ABUSE Shea32 said:
Rating:
I made these into mini cupcakes. Delicious!!! They freeze really well too.
Posted 2/27/2012 2:16:36 PM REPORT ABUSE sscot619 said:
Rating:
I followed the advice of other reviewers and used a 20 oz can of pineapple. The pineapple juice made the cake so moist. I also added just a few drops of coconut extract to the batter. I also just mixed a little shredded coconut into the whipped cream topping. It was a big hit. I'll definitely be making this again :)
Posted 2/27/2012 2:16:25 PM REPORT ABUSE Goatcheese said:
Rating:
Tried this cake and that how good can it be. It was a winner. Will definitely make again, even my husband loved it and he's not a fan of pineapple....
Posted 11/23/2011 12:29:18 PM REPORT ABUSE cyndy chaszeyka said:
Rating:
Do you make this to the instructions on the cake or do you not follow cake instructions and only follow recipe intructions?
Posted 6/6/2011 2:59:37 PM REPORT ABUSE mizzkristin said:
Rating:
I make this cake once every 2-3 weeks! Make the angel food cake as the box directs, then add 20 oz pineapple. To reduce the calories further, I do not add the coconut, instead I do a couple splashes of coconut extract right in the cake batter! You can still taste the coconut and lose the fat and calories! YUM!
Posted 5/24/2011 3:03:17 PM REPORT ABUSE rctamu said:
Rating:
Use the dry mix and pineapple only. I used the 1-step cake mix and 20 oz of pineapple. I drained pineapple and mixed juice with the mix until fluffy. Then I folded in the pineapple. Fantastic and fluffy. Great even without the whipped topping
Posted 2/18/2011 4:58:44 PM REPORT ABUSE cookingirl said:
Rating:
Aftewr reading the reviews-thnkfully before shopping, I also increased the pineapple to a 20 oz can.Also bought the betty crocker one step angel food cake mix white. We used fat free whipped cream instead of cool whip. I added 2 tablespoons of coconut to the batter and one drop red food coloring. The toasted cocnut sprinkled on top of whipped cream looked as good as it tasted! Will make again and again!
Posted 9/10/2010 9:50:13 AM REPORT ABUSE Mandyb33 said:
Rating:
We had this today for a co-workers birthday. It was gone in a matter of minutes. I would agree with the reviews that using a 20oz can of pineapple would result in a less sugary outcome. I will try that next time.
Posted 7/20/2010 9:50:01 AM REPORT ABUSE helmink1@yahoo.com said:
Rating:
Yummo! I made 3 of these in one day. One for Church Bingo, one for a relatives birthday and then I had to taste one myself! Based on reviews I used a full 20 oz can of crushed pinapple and my cake mix was 16 oz. Baked for 30-32 min depending on glass or metal pan. Will always have these ingredients on hand!!!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:49 AM REPORT ABUSE MMM3 said:
Rating:
I chose this cake based on the great reviews it got, but I must have done something wrong. I used a 21 oz can crushed pineapple based on reviews and the angel food cake was a 16 oz, could not find another size. The mix had two separate packages in it. I was not sure what to do, but I mixed them together then added the pineapple. After taking it out of oven, it was very rubbery and airy holes in it like a sponge. It did not look light or fluffy and tasty very chewy. I threw it away. What did I do wrong? Should I make the cake according to package directions then add pineapple? I did not know if I am supposed to just add pineapple only, mix and bake? Please help me if you can. Thank you.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:49 AM REPORT ABUSE aj818 said:
Rating:
I made this cake for a family get together. It was a huge hit and I have even been asked to bring it to the next get together!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:49 AM REPORT ABUSE frankie said:
Rating:
This cake is fabulous but insist that you use the 20oz can of crushed pineapple I can't imagine after tasting it that the 8 ozs would ever be enough. It is one of the best receipes I have found in a long time that I will use over and over again in the future !
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:49 AM REPORT ABUSE snace said:
Rating:
It is very Good. But I too was confused about whether I make the cake to the box instructions before adding the pineapple and baking. However I did not add the water because I figured the juice from the pineapple was replacing the water. Also the baking time was so short if the water is in there i think it would not bake in that amount of time.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:49 AM REPORT ABUSE catperson said:
Rating:
I was baffled by an 8-oz. can of pineapple being the only liquid for this cake, but I followed the directions anyway. I used pineapple in its own juice. The batter was very thick, too thick to pour as the directions specify. I spooned it into the pan and spread it out evenly. I baked it in a 13 x 9 glass pan at 325 (25 degrees less for glass pans). The cake was overdone at 20 minutes. The taste of the cake was pretty good, although a little too sweet/sugary. The worst part was that the bottom of the cake was dry and too brown. Several reviewers for this cake said that they used 20-oz. cans of pineapple and were very happy with the results. A 20-oz. can makes more sense. I love the combination of pineapple and coconut and the cake is so quick and easy to make. I decided to try it again with a 20-oz. can of pineapple (again in its own juice). The results were MUCH better. The batter was pourable and took 25 minutes to finish baking without being overdone. It was a little higher and less sugary-sweet. It was delicious!!!!! If anyone tries this recipe, I highly recommend that you use a 20-oz. can of pineapple. I think the recipe definitely needs rewriting to correct the amount of pineapple to use and also to give more direction about cooling the cake. Angel food cakes and regular cakes have different rules for cooling, in or out of the pan. Both times I made this cake, I cooled it in the pan about 10 minutes, then inverted it on a cake rack, cooled it for about 15 minutes, then inverted it onto a serving tray. Both times, a portion of the cake in the middle stuck to the pan. The rest of it came out quite easily. Does anyone know the proper cooling method for an angel food cake with added fruit that is baked in a greased pan? Now that I know how to make this cake turn out well, I will surely make it again.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:49 AM REPORT ABUSE chessie5 said:
Rating:
I made one of these today and it is absolutely delicious - it's moist and very flavorful. I bought a 16 oz angel food cake mix that is the kind you only have to add water to in order to make the cake. I put the mix in a bowl and added a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple with the juice and baked it up, then had to sample it right away. I thought it would be really sweet and only mildly tasting of the pineapple but it's not - it's perfect. I'm going to let everyone put on their own whipped cream and coconut as they like, but for me the cake itself is very satisfying.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE peterpan said:
Rating:
This cake is awesome, its the easiest cake to make ever!!!! AND it tastes amazing!!!!! I used a large can of pineapple though!!! You will not be disappointed.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
this cake was really good, the only part that confused me was whether I should make the cake as directed on the box (it had the egg white pkt and the cake mix) so I did that and added the pineapple. It was a big hit! Very easy, light and tasty treat for a hot summer night!!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE ChrystalBee said:
Rating:
I had difficulty with only 8 oz. of crushed pineapple and was in a pinch so I added a rather large splash of OJ to help loosen things up...it worked out just fine. All in all the cake was good - I got lots of compliments and inquiries about the recipe. I think next time I'd like to add some coconut or maybe just extract to the batter and I like everyone's idea of serving the coolwhip on the side...that makes it much more practical!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Georgie said:
Rating:
I'd love to make this dessert but am afraid to do so without having some of the questions answered from the other reviewers. Make the cake according to directions on the box or just use the cake mix along with the pineapple? Sounds like such a good, easy and quick cake!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Jeri P said:
Rating:
This cake was great, and so easy! I did add more pineapple but that was all. I took it to a potluck and it was very popular! Highly recommend giving it a try.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE loverofchocolate said:
Rating:
yep 20oz can pineapple definitely necessary. I used a 9x13 glass pan, cooked for 35 min and put coconut right on top of the batter before baking. Worked out perfectly and delicious too!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Jeri P said:
Rating:
I made this for a celebration at work and it was a hit! It was so easy to make I thought I had missed some steps! Will make it again without hesitation!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE geminigal said:
Rating:
The answer to the question is no water is needed, just mix the cake mix, and 20oz can of crushed pineapple in its own juice....then bake.I made it today and it is yummy.I also put coconut inside and on top....really good and moist and not unhealthy. I would add topping if you want but is good just plain.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Debbie Freeman said:
Rating:
If you are looking for something quick, easy & delicious, this is it! We love this cake & I don't like pineapple!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE meglink said:
Rating:
Soo good! I love the airy angel food cake with the pineapple! The toasted coconut on top gave it a great crisp. Definitely a keeper.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
As my family learns to change their eating habits and eating healthier this cake was easy and delicious that everyone enjoyed for my husbands birthday.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE ElsbethAmy said:
Rating:
Wow, mine is still in the oven and after reading the results, I cant wait. It was beyond easy to make. Thats my main comment. I understood that you dont make up the cake as drected but juse pineaple with juice instead? We'll see in a coupe hours. Oh I can't wait. If it works, Im bringing the recipe into a commercial kitchen I cook in. It would go over well and we wouldnt be cooking and icing all day!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE juanchev said:
Rating:
I have made this cake many many times and love it. Sometimes I do not put whipped topping on until I have cut the cake into serving pieces. Then on each individual piece I put coconut, strawberrie, banana, and blueberries. It is kind of a banana split. It is especially good after a large meal because it is not heavy.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Nadalia said:
Rating:
This recipe is so simple because you buy a cake mix that's instructions just need you to add water, nothing else! Try this one by Betty Crocker: http://www.amazon.com/Betty-Crocker-Angel-White-16-Ounce/dp/B000EMMA3Y
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Babyboomer49 said:
Rating:
My husband and I are diabetic. Be sure and use pineapple in own juice and sugar free cocoanut can be obtained at health food stores and Whole Foods to cut down on the sugar. Great easy cake!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE kimhickok said:
Rating:
so everyone questioned whether to make the angelfood cake as directed before adding pineapple, and nobody explained what they did do. can any one help? thanks.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE catperson said:
Rating:
You were disappointed in the cake, saying it didn't rise enough and was pasty. Did you use the 8-oz can of pineapple like the recipe said? I think that's a mistake. The first time I made it, I used the 8-oz can, and my cake didn't rise properly either. See my full review "is the recipe accurate" dated Feb. 13 where I gave it 3 stars. Notice, also, that nearly every reviewer who liked the cake used a 20-oz can of pineapple. I made the cake again with a 20-oz can, and now I will give the cake 5 stars. It's really delicious! Try it again with the larger can. Catperson
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Jillg42 said:
Rating:
I made this cake today and not sure what happened, but when the cake cooled, it shrunk about 1 inch all the wsay around and it wasn't light in texture, like the pic shows. The cake seemed very heavy--did I do something wrong? Was I suppose to make mix the cake according to directions first before adding the pineapple? I'll definitely try it again because I think it would taste awesome!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Rosa2010 said:
Rating:
I used 1 can (20 oz) pineapple and final product was very good, the only problem was it did not rise :(
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE RSB said:
Rating:
I've made this cake several times since getting the recipe and have received rave reviews and recipe requests each time! For variety, I sometimes add untoasted shredded coconut on top before baking in lieu of putting toasted coconut on the whipped topping, or have added chopped walnuts to the mix; a stemmed maraschino cherry on top of the whipped topping before serving adds a special touch... No matter what I do, this cake is delicious!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE ChrystalBee said:
Rating:
I had difficulty with only 8 oz. of crushed pineapple and was in a pinch so I added a rather large splash of OJ to help loosen things up...it worked out just fine. All in all the cake was good - I got lots of compliments and inquiries about the recipe. I think next time I'd like to add some coconut or maybe just extract to the batter and I like everyone's idea of serving the coolwhip on the side...that makes it much more practical!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Georgie said:
Rating:
not sure if we all liked this one......my cake didn't rise enough was kinda pastey (sp?). i might try it one more time tho!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Carol B said:
Rating:
The very best! It tastes like Pineapple Upside Down Cake without the calories. I used a large can of crushed pineapple and instead of using the cool whip as icing I used the whip when served. It is also good without the cool whip. Wonderful for a quick and easy dessert.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This is the easiest, fastest, yummiest dessert I've made. It took me literally a couple seconds to stir it up, then bake, and top it and you're done! We ate half of it already in one night. Very light and refreshing tasting.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE HelenInWV said:
Rating:
Talk about quick, easy and tasty! I didn't read the recipe close enough before shopping so I ended up with a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple. I also toasted the coconut and mixed it in with the pineapple and cake mix, forgetting about the whipped topping all together. Even my husband, who eats nothing considered healthy, loves it. Try it, you'll like it.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This cake is awesome and taste great. I made it today for a prayer brunch and it went over real well. I had strawberries with it. Everybody wanted the recipe. I also used a 20 oz can of pineapple instead of an 8 0z can, and I put the cool whip on top of the pieces as I served. I will make again,probably for Sunday dinner.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
So, I read the reviews and was also confused as to whether to prepare the cake as directed on the package or just add the pineapple and juice to the dry mix. I did buy a 2 step cake mix, so the egg white powder needed to be fluffed up with water. I decided to make the cake as directed on the box, but I used about 1/2 cup less water. After re-hydrating and beating the powdered egg white, and slowly mixing in the cake mix, I folded in about 1.5 cups of pineapple bits and juice. I also added a couple drops of food color to make it pink for Valentine's day =). The mixture appeared light, almost like whipped cream. I poured it into a coated 13x9 pan, baked it for about 25 minutes and it turned out GREAT. Just make sure that the entire surface raises (the center isn't sunken in).
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE ellyross100 said:
Rating:
OMG is all I can say, this was the most amazing cake ever, low in fat and calories. I find it's like chips, you can't have just one. Mmm, I shared it with all my friends and I'm going to make it for my dad, if it makes it to his house, maybe I'll make two, one for me and one for him.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This cake is SO good and so easy! I used a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple and eliminated the coconut due to my husband's diet. I've made it countless times and shared the recipe with everyone I know. I have to convince them I didn't leave out any ingredients! If you have 5 minutes, you can make a great dessert tonight!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE chilipepper44 said:
Rating:
I wasnt much on this recipe. It was to dry.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE clh22 said:
Rating:
Seemed like it would have been better with more pineapple. Not sure if I liked the whipped topping on there, either. But pretty good for a healthy cake.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Jayne5354 said:
Rating:
Jillg42 had a problem with the cake not being light and fluffy. I make this all the time and it always turned out great, but ONE TIME I used a 2-step angelfood cake mix and it did like Jillg52 described! I found out you MUST use the 1-step recipe mix! Sometimes I also add a box of sugar-free vanilla pudding (dry)to the whipped topping before frosting the cake. Another reader asked about how to use the cake mix. Do NOT make cake according to the box directions! Simply add pineapple and juice to the DRY cake mix. It will foam up big time! But that's what makes it light and fluffy!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE BohoAlly said:
Rating:
Everyone who tasted this loved it, and the whole cake was gone in no time at all. DEFINITELY use the 20 oz can of pineapple. So easy!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE smheagle said:
Rating:
Has anyone tried this recipe using mandarin oranges instead of pineapple? Just thinking about a cake called a Pig Pickin cake that had cool whip icing with pineapple and a butter cake with oranges. I think this recipe would lend itself well to these substitutions.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I made this cake for residents at an assistant living home and they loved it. It is hard to find a healthy dessert that can be made for a larger group. This was so easy to make, and I make it at least once a month. You will be surprised how good it is.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This cake is very easy to make with delicious results. The cake is light and refreshing. I modified the recipe a tad by using a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, as well as by putting some coconut in the cake batter. I will continue to make this cake for special events or just to have in the fridge for the perfect dessert any night of the week.
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE Grandma35C said:
Rating:
This cake was delicious. Both my husband and I enjoyed it very much. I, too, used the 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple. However, you then have to cook it longer. I cooked it between 30 and 35 minutes. I also added some coconut into the cake itself. In order to keep the cake out of the refrigerator, I only put the whipped topping and additional coconut on top of the pieces when they were served. This recipe is quick and easy -- definitely a keeper!!
Posted 7/5/2010 10:45:48 AM REPORT ABUSE brllntbrunette said:
Rating:
it was good... but SO so dry! I see why they call for an entire tub of cool whip!
1 - 56 of 56 Reviews
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END