ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END

Recipe Reviews

Healthified Monkey Bread

Prep: 15 min Total: 1 hr 10 min

(83 Ratings) Member Reviews (28)

Calories 230 Total Fat 6g Saturated Fat 2g

Write a Review

true
2d284ff7-7ce2-42fe-a1af-f7c936a1f6fc

1 - 28 of 28 Reviews
Posted 6/23/2013 11:11:59 AM REPORT ABUSE Suzi in Pt. Hueneme said:
Rating:
FRENCH TOAST! Made the monkey bread with apple....delicious. My husband suggested using the leftovers for French toast. Wow...what a total success. Slices 1 1/2" thick dipped into egg with cinnamon. Absolutely fabulous!
Posted 3/26/2013 11:33:54 AM REPORT ABUSE ejberry1 said:
Rating:
I'm sure this is delicious, but I think it's deceptive to show the amount of granulated sugar side-by-side comparison. There is a TON of sugar in low-fat caramel sauce, so that should be shown, as well. Unless you buy a special brand of sauce, it will have approximately the same amount of sugars as the brown sugar would.
Posted 9/27/2012 7:02:33 PM REPORT ABUSE Moreland said:
Rating:
I have made this a number of times, easy and Oh So Good ! I use more ingredients than called for, as we love it real gooey, and nutty. Yummmmy
Posted 5/2/2012 9:24:48 PM REPORT ABUSE maunzerle said:
Rating:
I can't count how many times i made this, but each and every time it turned out fantastic. I don't even measure anymore, but just pour and sprinkle cin.sugar, caramel syrup and nuts between the layers as i feel like......more than i maybe should, but it turns out soft and gooey. I bake it in a regular silicone bundt pan. The kids and grand kids love it and devour it in no time.
Posted 11/23/2011 12:49:28 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
Read PARADE MAGAZINE's 'How American Can Eat Better' http://www.parade.com/export/sites/default/food/2009/04/How-America-Can-Eat-Better.html Written by Lisa Gosselin, the editorial director of “EatingWell” magazine.
Posted 11/23/2011 12:48:46 PM REPORT ABUSE Sheryl Taylor said:
Rating:
I used Truvia instead of sugar and it was wonderful!! I thought it tasted just like the normal version only with less calories. Will definitely make it again.
Posted 6/23/2010 9:40:04 AM REPORT ABUSE ehazel1 said:
Rating:
our family had so much fun making this. we loved the variation and it is alot healthier than our recipe.
Posted 6/1/2010 2:02:40 PM REPORT ABUSE barbee1956 said:
Rating:
I have not yet tried this...in fact I have never had monkey bread, but it sounded good so I am making it tomorrow. I am sure that either recipe will be wonderful.
Posted 3/25/2010 2:48:05 PM REPORT ABUSE Kortnee said:
Rating:
We loved this version of monkey bread and I did not have a problem with the caramel sticking. I made this recipe twice and tried adding half of the caramel topping about 25 minutes after putting it in the oven. It did come out a little goo-ier so if you have a problem with the caramel sticking this might help.
Posted 1/5/2010 10:58:06 AM REPORT ABUSE rgboehler said:
Rating:
Awful attempt to healthify this dish. Carmel topping is extremely messy, sticking to and hardening on everything it touches....pan, dishes, pot holders. Must clean up with extrememly hot water. Taste is nothing like Monkey Bread. Not healthy or good.
Posted 12/1/2009 11:16:46 PM REPORT ABUSE faith4keep said:
Rating:
I made this for some friends on Thanksgiving day. I felt the recipe was just as good as the real thing! It definitely had a different taste- but in a good way. Also different was that I ate one serving and felt satisfied. With normal monkey bread I could eat the whole thing over the course of a lazy morning :) If you like monkey bread, this is definitely worth a try!
Posted 11/9/2009 5:14:57 PM REPORT ABUSE tamsg said:
Rating:
I made this for my family. My husband and kids loved it. Great! I will have to make this more often.
Posted 8/25/2009 4:12:29 PM REPORT ABUSE gr8lady4u2please@yahoo.com said:
Rating:
This was great but messy. I made it 4 packets of Splenda and Smuckers sugar free caramel topping . It was delicious and safe for my child whom is a diabetic .
Posted 8/25/2009 3:43:24 PM REPORT ABUSE JeffyBoyLover24 said:
Rating:
I made the original (not the healthified) and oh yeah-I see (or taste) why this needs to be healthified. It is so sweet; so good! It took less than 40 mins to bake. The melted butter/sugar mixture pooled at the bottom of the pan, so the top pieces (after its inverted) are SOAKED in sweet, buttery awesomeness. Oh and it even looks delicious.
Posted 5/27/2009 2:37:02 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
One more way to make your Monkey Bread more "Healthified"! I recently found a "No Sugar Added" Carmel Topping in the grocery store and since my mother is diabetic it caught my eye. After finding your recpe for the "Healthified" Monkey Bread we decided to try it with the "No Sugar Added" topping so that she could also enjoy the bread. It didn't affect her blood sugar at all!
Posted 5/21/2009 2:48:53 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I just donated my flute pan so I used a small dutch pan and an empty can for the middle, felt like I was camping but it worked and it is easy. I cut the recipe in half since there was only 2 of us which worked out fine. I didn't find enough flavor with the sugar and cinnamon and buy the biscits often already. Mine stuck and burned also but I will take blame for that. I turned off the over early but didn't open the door and had to walk the dogs and the bread sat in the pan so I don't know what would have happened if taken out at the proper time. Maybe adding more seasoning and sauce would have helped but I won't try it again, unless camping.
Posted 5/13/2009 1:23:56 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This was very easy to make and was very good. The only downfall was that the caramel left my pan very gooey and sticky. It was time consuming to clean.
Posted 4/17/2009 9:49:46 AM REPORT ABUSE chelle17 said:
Rating:
I made this for breakfast for my mom and we both loved it. Delicious and not overly sweet, especially if you take the suggestion of another reviewer and use sugar-free caramel. Just follow the recipe! Rather than taking the pan out of the oven to cool, i cracked the oven door and turned off the temperature. It came out beautifully!
Posted 4/17/2009 9:49:32 AM REPORT ABUSE katiebrez2 said:
Rating:
This was so good!! I was skeptical and thought there was no way it would be as good as the original but it turned out amazing...and it was so easy!! I will definitely make again.
Posted 4/15/2009 12:59:01 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I made this for my family and they loved it! The second time I made it I didn't have can biscuts so I used can bread dough and it worked great!!!
Posted 4/13/2009 11:21:35 AM REPORT ABUSE blueyes56 said:
Rating:
this recipe looks so good! I'm sure u can use Splenda for the sugar. it should work out just great! I can't what to try it soon! My kids love Monkey bread this should work out great! thanks for the receipt!!
Posted 4/13/2009 11:20:20 AM REPORT ABUSE Tocy said:
Rating:
I made this for Easter morning as this is a family favorite. I figured this would be the best of both worlds as we are all watching our weight. I was highly disappointed with this recipe. It nearly ruined my pan!! The carmel was almost too "gooey" to chew and it stuck more to the bottom of my pan than to the bread itself.
Posted 4/10/2009 8:56:31 AM REPORT ABUSE jadagio77 said:
Rating:
Evie, if a recipe looks like it has too much sugar, use alternative ingredients and change it, but please don't give it 2 stars. My dad is a diabetic and we've tweaked his favorites for years. All you have to do is think for yourself and change it! I substituted half the sugar for Splenda and used sugar-free caramel topping and it was still delicious. Not quite the same stickiness the real deal would have had, but a lot less sugar to worry about! A treat is a treat and not meant to be eaten every day ... I'm fit and healthy and do enjoy a carb-laden goody every now and again!
Posted 4/9/2009 8:24:36 AM REPORT ABUSE Eviej said:
Rating:
When you talk about being healthy you forget about what is more important to a diabetic than fat. It's SUGAR and PROCESSED WHITE FLOUR. The carbs from that are worse for you than the fat. Try to get some receipes with carb counts under 20 grams a serving, that would be healthy for a diabetic.
Posted 4/8/2009 11:27:08 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
A great recipe kids can help make. We did a smaller batch just using 1 package of reduced fat crescent rolls b/c that is what we already had in the fridge. We were wanting cinnamon rolls but were out of them. This was a nice substitute. We baked ours in large ramakens perfect for individual servings and they baked faster too.
Posted 4/8/2009 11:25:45 AM REPORT ABUSE twinmomlisa said:
Rating:
Wondering if this recipe could be tweeked to make it a lower sugar version by using Splenda and sugar free carmel topping?? Anyone had any luck with this? I have to limit my sugar intake and would like to know if this would work and what the nutritional counts would be. Thanks!
Posted 4/8/2009 11:18:09 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
Oh WOW! A way to make an ooey gooey favorite to be a much healthier version...what a treat and then some! This is so delicious. I had to make it the lowest calorie version of course just to really see if it could even compete with the dessert/breakfast treat my little sister used to love to bake as a kid, and Mmmmm, oh yeah, it was just as deliciousiososososo good as I remember back at home! This is a must special treat. Surprise someone today - RUN don't walk to your nearby store, check your fridge, check the pantry and the spice drawers, then make this today and surprise your husband, your kids, your in-laws, parents, your kids teacher after school, or a neighbor - you will not be sorry. The only reason you'll have for being sorry is if you don't make it NOW! Enjoy! :)
Posted 3/24/2009 1:17:18 PM REPORT ABUSE Kitchen_Cook said:
Rating:
This is a great treat for brunch or dessert--that's so easy to make! We tried the version with Country Italian Bread so the fat and calories would be lower. It released from the pan easily, looked irresistible and tasted even better! Everyone gobbled it up. What a winner!
1 - 28 of 28 Reviews
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END