ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END

Recipe Reviews

Healthified Fresh Apple Cake

Prep: 20 min Total: 2 hr 5 min

(43 Ratings) Member Reviews (20)

Calories 250 Total Fat 10g Saturated Fat 1g

Write a Review

true
3f0315fe-3ca2-4482-993d-7e1026e3543f

1 - 20 of 20 Reviews
Posted 2/26/2013 2:03:56 PM REPORT ABUSE scal said:
Rating:
ok, I made this before and loved it. Then tried to cut out even more calories...still as delicious.
No white sugar at all
3/4 cup Splenda brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup egg beaters
2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose
everything else the same!
Posted 10/17/2012 7:42:19 AM REPORT ABUSE tyris said:
Rating:
nice recipe
Posted 9/30/2012 10:15:42 AM REPORT ABUSE SeabeeBob said:
Rating:
I made this last week with the original recipe. I loved it as did all who ate it. It did however, have a flour taste from the whole wheat flour. I just made it again with a few minor changes and additions to alleviate the flour taste and bring warmth into the recipe. I lowered the amount of canola oil to approx. 1/4 cup and then added approx 1/2+ of a cup of unsweetened apple sauce, I added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves for the fall spice. I also added a hefty portion of Pink Floyd on the stereo, and a boody Mary was added into the mix, not the batter, for the chef, ME. : )
As I licked the beater blades, I tasted just a hint of nutmeg and clove. A very subtle warmth to the cake. I'm also making a cream cheese frosting for it. Should be stupendous.
Posted 9/29/2012 12:47:49 PM REPORT ABUSE Jus4dew said:
Rating:
This recipe is easy to halve. I used just the brown sugar and whole wheat flour. My husband loved it.
Posted 9/22/2012 6:02:28 PM REPORT ABUSE KOHLE said:
Rating:
I made this cake today and I found it to be very dry and heavy would not make again
Posted 12/21/2011 2:06:37 PM REPORT ABUSE skeeter1 said:
Rating:
This is one of the most appetizing cakes I have ever eaten/made. It is so easy to stir together & contains most ingredients people would have on hand. I made this cake this past Sunday & it is still fresh. I will make again, due to the fact that my Grands loved it.
Posted 11/14/2011 1:56:00 PM REPORT ABUSE feydust said:
Rating:
I made this cake last night and it was SO good. To me it isn't really cake-like but it makes a wonderful snack. I feel good about giving this as a snack to my 8 year old, and she loves it!
Posted 11/14/2011 1:55:52 PM REPORT ABUSE candygirlga said:
Rating:
This 'cake' doesn't last more than one day at work. I substitute Splenda for the sugar, apple sauce for the oil and use all whole wheat flour. I have also served a side of carmel topping with it in case people needed more sweet. This cake was even requested for our family Christmas potluck!
Posted 9/26/2011 5:00:50 PM REPORT ABUSE JennyH78 said:
Rating:
This cake is delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and added 1/2 cup raisins. I omitted walnuts so my 15 month old could have some. It is really delicious.
Posted 9/26/2011 5:00:17 PM REPORT ABUSE kcrn03 said:
Rating:
This cake went over well at a work potluck. I followed the recipe exactly and checked on the cake after about 30 min in the oven and it was already done! I drizzled some caramel apple dip on top too. Yummy!
Posted 9/6/2011 11:32:06 AM REPORT ABUSE SpiceGuy said:
Rating:
This recipe lacks flavor and texture. I made this according to directions and it was almost flavorless and much too heavy. I would not make this again nor recommend it to others.
Posted 11/5/2009 3:01:31 PM REPORT ABUSE Valerie4321 said:
Rating:
This cake was delicious and moist. I used egg substitute in place of the eggs but otherwise I left it as is. Next time I may substitute apple sauce for half the oil. Yummy treat for a fall day!
Posted 10/21/2009 11:26:41 PM REPORT ABUSE Barbara Ann61 said:
Rating:
I made this for my family, they all loved it. I put plastic wrap over it and noticed it was even more moist 2 days later.
Posted 2/2/2009 12:37:29 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This recipe rocks!! Easy to make, and so yummy. I made icing, and it wasn't needed. This cake would have been better with out it.
Posted 1/19/2009 4:52:03 PM REPORT ABUSE mdcjjj said:
Rating:
my family just loves this cake. Instead of half white flour, I use all white whole wheat flour, and my family doesn't notice the difference. I also add raisins for extra flavor and fiber. I make this at least a few times a month.
Posted 10/31/2008 9:37:27 AM REPORT ABUSE Hollandgirl said:
Rating:
This recipe is easy to make and delicious. I have made it a couple of times and the response has been great. Everyone loved the moistness and that the cake was not "too" sweet. I plan on bringing it to a church potluck this weekend.
Posted 10/13/2008 9:52:56 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
What's even better about this recipe is that you can substitute applesauce for oil and reduce the fat and add even more nutrients!
Posted 10/13/2008 9:52:45 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I made this cake last night for a dinner party. It was a hit! Served with vanilla ice cream.... this apple cake is the perfect fall treat!
Posted 12/21/2007 11:37:10 AM REPORT ABUSE healthmom30 said:
Rating:
This recipe is amazing!--I brought it to a company pot-luck and I didn't even have crumbs leftover!--Very fresh and moist, only a little heavy; very good and definately a keeper!
Posted 11/20/2007 9:32:31 AM REPORT ABUSE Katherine Hepburn said:
Rating:
Made this recipe for the first time and it was an instant success. I was able to put it together without going to the store and the cooking time was accurate. Cake very moist and tasty. I would ask that the folks that this cake makes 20 servings define what are the dimensions of a serving. Other than that, it was an excellent recipe.
1 - 20 of 20 Reviews
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END