ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
We’ve updated our Privacy Policy. Please note we also have new Legal Terms, which require all disputes related to the purchase or use of any General Mills product or service to be resolved through binding arbitration. For more information on these changes, please click here.

IMPORTANT: We have a new Privacy Policy and Legal Terms. Learn more.

ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END

Recipe Reviews

Healthified Fresh Apple Cake

Prep: 20 min Total: 2 hr 5 min

(43 Ratings) Member Reviews (20)

Calories 250 Total Fat 10g Saturated Fat 1g

Write a Review

true
3f0315fe-3ca2-4482-993d-7e1026e3543f

1 - 20 of 20 Reviews
Posted 2/26/2013 2:03:56 PM REPORT ABUSE scal said:
Rating:
ok, I made this before and loved it. Then tried to cut out even more calories...still as delicious.
No white sugar at all
3/4 cup Splenda brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup egg beaters
2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose
everything else the same!
Posted 10/17/2012 7:42:19 AM REPORT ABUSE tyris said:
Rating:
nice recipe
Posted 9/30/2012 10:15:42 AM REPORT ABUSE SeabeeBob said:
Rating:
I made this last week with the original recipe. I loved it as did all who ate it. It did however, have a flour taste from the whole wheat flour. I just made it again with a few minor changes and additions to alleviate the flour taste and bring warmth into the recipe. I lowered the amount of canola oil to approx. 1/4 cup and then added approx 1/2+ of a cup of unsweetened apple sauce, I added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves for the fall spice. I also added a hefty portion of Pink Floyd on the stereo, and a boody Mary was added into the mix, not the batter, for the chef, ME. : )
As I licked the beater blades, I tasted just a hint of nutmeg and clove. A very subtle warmth to the cake. I'm also making a cream cheese frosting for it. Should be stupendous.
Posted 9/29/2012 12:47:49 PM REPORT ABUSE Jus4dew said:
Rating:
This recipe is easy to halve. I used just the brown sugar and whole wheat flour. My husband loved it.
Posted 9/22/2012 6:02:28 PM REPORT ABUSE KOHLE said:
Rating:
I made this cake today and I found it to be very dry and heavy would not make again
Posted 12/21/2011 2:06:37 PM REPORT ABUSE skeeter1 said:
Rating:
This is one of the most appetizing cakes I have ever eaten/made. It is so easy to stir together & contains most ingredients people would have on hand. I made this cake this past Sunday & it is still fresh. I will make again, due to the fact that my Grands loved it.
Posted 11/14/2011 1:56:00 PM REPORT ABUSE feydust said:
Rating:
I made this cake last night and it was SO good. To me it isn't really cake-like but it makes a wonderful snack. I feel good about giving this as a snack to my 8 year old, and she loves it!
Posted 11/14/2011 1:55:52 PM REPORT ABUSE candygirlga said:
Rating:
This 'cake' doesn't last more than one day at work. I substitute Splenda for the sugar, apple sauce for the oil and use all whole wheat flour. I have also served a side of carmel topping with it in case people needed more sweet. This cake was even requested for our family Christmas potluck!
Posted 9/26/2011 5:00:50 PM REPORT ABUSE JennyH78 said:
Rating:
This cake is delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and added 1/2 cup raisins. I omitted walnuts so my 15 month old could have some. It is really delicious.
Posted 9/26/2011 5:00:17 PM REPORT ABUSE kcrn03 said:
Rating:
This cake went over well at a work potluck. I followed the recipe exactly and checked on the cake after about 30 min in the oven and it was already done! I drizzled some caramel apple dip on top too. Yummy!
Posted 9/6/2011 11:32:06 AM REPORT ABUSE SpiceGuy said:
Rating:
This recipe lacks flavor and texture. I made this according to directions and it was almost flavorless and much too heavy. I would not make this again nor recommend it to others.
Posted 11/5/2009 3:01:31 PM REPORT ABUSE Valerie4321 said:
Rating:
This cake was delicious and moist. I used egg substitute in place of the eggs but otherwise I left it as is. Next time I may substitute apple sauce for half the oil. Yummy treat for a fall day!
Posted 10/21/2009 11:26:41 PM REPORT ABUSE Barbara Ann61 said:
Rating:
I made this for my family, they all loved it. I put plastic wrap over it and noticed it was even more moist 2 days later.
Posted 2/2/2009 12:37:29 PM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
This recipe rocks!! Easy to make, and so yummy. I made icing, and it wasn't needed. This cake would have been better with out it.
Posted 1/19/2009 4:52:03 PM REPORT ABUSE mdcjjj said:
Rating:
my family just loves this cake. Instead of half white flour, I use all white whole wheat flour, and my family doesn't notice the difference. I also add raisins for extra flavor and fiber. I make this at least a few times a month.
Posted 10/31/2008 9:37:27 AM REPORT ABUSE Hollandgirl said:
Rating:
This recipe is easy to make and delicious. I have made it a couple of times and the response has been great. Everyone loved the moistness and that the cake was not "too" sweet. I plan on bringing it to a church potluck this weekend.
Posted 10/13/2008 9:52:56 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
What's even better about this recipe is that you can substitute applesauce for oil and reduce the fat and add even more nutrients!
Posted 10/13/2008 9:52:45 AM REPORT ABUSE Member said:
Rating:
I made this cake last night for a dinner party. It was a hit! Served with vanilla ice cream.... this apple cake is the perfect fall treat!
Posted 12/21/2007 11:37:10 AM REPORT ABUSE healthmom30 said:
Rating:
This recipe is amazing!--I brought it to a company pot-luck and I didn't even have crumbs leftover!--Very fresh and moist, only a little heavy; very good and definately a keeper!
Posted 11/20/2007 9:32:31 AM REPORT ABUSE Katherine Hepburn said:
Rating:
Made this recipe for the first time and it was an instant success. I was able to put it together without going to the store and the cooking time was accurate. Cake very moist and tasty. I would ask that the folks that this cake makes 20 servings define what are the dimensions of a serving. Other than that, it was an excellent recipe.
1 - 20 of 20 Reviews
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_START
ENDECA_EXCLUDE_END